Brrr! Butternut Soup

It’s getting pretty cold in Nairobi and soup is one of those things to help keep the cold away. It’s funny that I hardly make soup despite the recipe being pretty simple. So the other day my friend Rachael chats me up on gtalk asking for a recipe for butternut squash and a few days later I decide to make some.

Ingredients:

1 medium sized butternut squash peeled, seeded and cubed

3 medium sized carrots cubed

1 red apple peeled, cored and cubed

1 medium onion chopped

3 cloves garlic sliced

1 inch of ginger chopped

1 cup chicken stock

2 cups water

1 tablespoon vegetable oil

Salt and Pepper to taste

DSC09407

As I have said making soup is pretty easy. In a saucepan heat the vegetable oil and fry the onions, garlic and ginger. Let them cook down for a few minutes.

Throw in the butternut, carrots and apples. Stir them and cover to cook for a few minutes. You may be wondering why I added in an apple but after reading various soup recipes with apples added in so I decided to try it out 🙂

DSC09408

Add the liquid.

The chicken stock I used was from the water I had poached the chicken for these quesadillas and since it had seasoning I didn’t need to season my soup. Cover and let the soup simmer until the squash is tender. This will take about 30 minutes.

DSC09411

Once cooked pour the soup in a blender or food processor. Ensure to cover the blender since the soup is hot.

DSC09412

Pulse it until pureed. At this point check for seasoning and adjust accordingly.

Serve in a soup bowl, garnish with some fresh coriander. I didn’t have some so I sprinkled over some dried parsley.

Enjoy with some bread rolls and remember to keep warm.

DSC09418

Verdict:

According to hubby the soup was beyond awesome. I loved it, I’ll definitely make it again.

10 thoughts on “Brrr! Butternut Soup”

  1. Hmm..interesting twist with the apple, how did that taste? I have been doing soups since last week, they are truly the easiest thing to make…and hubby loves them! 🙂 he hates cooked carrots but i did a carrot and ginger soup which he LOVED (more marks to me lol!) Best gadget to have when making soup is the hand-held blender, got one for my wedding which I had never used…now I keep it close!
    Haha ok I am done gushing 🙂 happy cooking!

  2. Looks warm and filling.:-).ill try,let you know how it goes..still havent gotten round to starting that thing.:(..but your emailmwasnvery informative

    1. he he Swabra, you are a funny one. Stop procrastinating just begin. Yeah try the soup. Imagine I’m yet to make the rice porridge, yikes!!! I guess I’m nervous, I’ll it over the weekend.

  3. Today I celebrate you girl. I bought some butternuts 3 weeks ago…after seeing your recipe. And never got guts to make the soup…which my hubby always overdoes in a hotel. So since this week we are both down with flu….leo nikajikaza with all my ugonjwas and made the soup…soooooooo awesome! I am sooo blessed by this recipe….it’s lifted his moods. Tuseme tu nimeongeza bonga points!The chicken stock…I used Knorr chicken stock…and it still rocked.

    Now I need the mushroom soup recipe…or vegetable soup…that nice thick one.

    Barikiwa sana.

    1. Aww Paps, thank you for the blessings. I am very happy the soup was delightful plus you gain bonga points 🙂
      Sasa kazi kwangu to work on the mushroom and vegetable soups.

Leave a comment